A-T-L

It’s been a while since I’ve been in the not-so-pleasant parts of downtown Atlanta but yesterday I had a good look. One of my best friends is living right down the block from some of the shadier parts of town in Grant Park, but he insists he can leave the windows open all day without any disturbance at all. And I mean it’s really not that bad you just have to beware that your car rides will probably be a little quieter if (when) your radio gets stolen.

side note: I’m giving him public props- congratulations on actually moving downtown and decorating your apartment with a record player, velvet painting, black & white tile, and polaroids on the fridge. You’ve become the laid back guy whose cool enough to be a hipster but it’s cooler that you don’t know (or care).

Ok back to the day. We thrifted on the higher priced side in Little Five Points where an old Gap t-shirt can run you about ten bucks. And I don’t mean old as in vintage …we’re talking that weird cut stuff from the 90’s. Without much luck at rag-o-rama we stopped for coffee. This was not my typical coffee shop. It had… character. Hand doodled sayings like “Darling, you’re a fag” were scrawled over trashcans, counter tops, and chairs with doll heads and skulls hanging from the ceiling. I love Atlanta.

Then we went to Wax N Facts- the nearby record store and after scouring for Eat A Peach and coming up empty handed  we settled on Dead Mau5 and The Decemberists. And a day in downtown (anywhere) wouldn’t be complete without people wanting you to buy their crafts/ listen to their music/ whatever. We stopped to talk to a guy who was making stone and copper jewelry and learn about the good energy that we could nab if we bought a piece. I also now know that my zodiac sign, scorpio, has three element signs. I’m emotional, I think too much, and I’m grounded. awesome. He was a good sport about it and we listened to a guy’s speech for a solid ten minutes before we peaced out.

Sorry- i hate drafts but my batteries going dead.  to be continued…

About urbanpeach

A college student channeling a southern belle/hipster. Yes that combination is possible. Welcome to my daily inspirations!
This entry was posted in Food, Music, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

